The Times They Are A-Changing

It’s strange how things change, don’t you think? How you start off headed in one direction, but in the end you’re somewhere completely different from where you thought you would be?

I started this blog because I thought it would be interesting to have a record of my stressful but fruitful move to California – mostly to benefit my family members on the east coast who might want to know what was happening in my life. Stressful, it certainly was, but fruitful? Not at all. No jobs were out there for me – not even minimum-wage store jobs wanted to hire me. Even the bookstore that wanted a children’s book seller, a category with which I’m exceedingly familiar (Thank you Worcester Public Library) never responded to my cover letter.

So I packed up and came back, ending up in Boston in a house full of people, some of whom have jobs and some who do not. I’m still in the “not” category. I had a freelance writing job, at an impressive rate for freelance, from what I understand (nearly 50 cents per word). I have not been paid for it yet. I don’t know how long it takes to receive checks from this company, but I sent the invoice over a month ago, and at this point having that $500 would be like an early Christmas present. In June I had a few babysitting gigs, but in June I also spent a lot of extra money on things, so the money I made babysitting didn’t really end up providing me extra padding for later on (read: now). I haven’t had a babysitting job since June. Ever noticed how one-time-gig jobs are difficult to get, and are insufficient once you do get them?

Right now I’m waiting to hear back from a full-time writing job that would be absolutely perfect for the time being (they said they ask people to sign a two-year contract, and I would have expected to stay at least that long). On Thursday, they gave me a timeline of 1-2 weeks. You have no idea how long that is until you’ve been unemployed, waiting to hear back from the job you most definitely want.

And during the rest of the time I fantasize about ways I could make money if I were smarter, or just luckier. I could sell knitted items (most likely, scarves, as I love scarves so much that it’s usually the only thing I want to knit). I’m a singer with years of training, and I could have a regular singing gig – if I happened to come across one. I don’t want to pursue singing as a career, but if things worked out that way, I wouldn’t complain. (I’m not saying I wouldn’t work on my singing and music very hard, but marketing myself as a singer? Ugh. No fun.) I could read books for money – although how you actually get those jobs, the legit ones, that is, is beyond me. I would LOVE to read books for money.

And I could get published… but I don’t have the money to invest in writing contests or sending manuscripts to publishers – not to mention that such an endeavor would have more of a long-term outlook, as it usually takes at least a few months to get a response. If I had an income (more specifically an income that could cover such a thing) I would enter up to 4 contests a month, and at least one every month.

I’ve been living off what I managed to make in a part-time job I had while I was still living in Worcester, but now it’s run out. Come the end of October, if I’m still working with only what I have now, I won’t be able to cover any of my bills. Hello, debt! But with a little more effort and a little more luck than I’ve had so far, it won’t come to that. Please hope with me.

~ by plaidlylush on October 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
