Songs That Make You Cry

My second semester at Bennington, I enrolled in a course called The Language of Music under the foolish expectation that it would answer those questions that cannot be answered about music. I was certainly glad that I took that class, but it certainly didn’t give me what I thought it would when I first read the description.

Why are some intervals more pleasing to the ear than others? Why do people like a particular type or piece of music more than others? Why do some songs make you cry? These qualities of music, as far as I will ever believe, cannot be explained. I’m coming to believe that people are drawn to music in certain keys because they resonate with our natural frequencies, but that could be bullstardollarsignpercentandnumbersymbols. Just a theory.

I would like to know why songs evoke certain emotions in us. Once in a while it’s the lyrics, but usually it’s some quality of the sounds that is making you cry, not the words being sung. I don’t think we’ll ever know.

~ by plaidlylush on May 21, 2010.

4 Responses to “Songs That Make You Cry”

  1. Deva, you and I think a lot alike. I have wondered the same thing, but was unable to express it. Thanks!

  2. Funny, I always cry at lyrics. My brain doesn’t ‘hear’ music well.. I’m close to being technically tone-deaf. All I really have when I listen to music is the lyrics, the rhythm, and an impression of the melody that is kinda sorta accurate…. but the lyrics still make me cry easily enough.

    • I guess for people who experience music like that it would be the lyrics… but for people like me, it’s the music itself. My mom cries mostly at songs that have no words to them.

  3. I’ve wondered about this myself. Why certain compositions just travel into the heart. I also agree it’s the music and using the right chord and note combination for the effect. For we all know there’s a lot of crap music out there that’s not close to a Bach cantata or a Springsteen ballad.

Leave a Reply

 
