Let People Watch You Write!

Perhaps, since it has now been done, it would only be copying an extremely cool idea to do it again. However, that doesn’t stop me from being tempted to use MeetingWords to write a story, allowing anyone who wanted to read as I write and edit, as writer Matt Bell did recently. I found out through this link.

http://www.mediabistro.com/galleycat/trends/watch_matt_bell_write_a_short_story_onlinelive_161912.asp

I’m not going to do this now. I don’t have a story, and I don’t have an audience. Perhaps if I started writing a novel, I could build a fan base slowly. Who knows. All I know is that the worst fanfictions ever written seem to have the most reviews, indicating that most people reading online have the worst possible taste in writing. That phenomenon might only apply to fanfiction, though. Whether it does or not, I can pretty much guarantee that only a few family members and friends would read it – in the beginning, at least. While I’m grateful that my family and friends are interested in my writing, they don’t offer enough of a market to bring success in working as a writer. (No offense, guys, it’s just plain truth.)

So no, I’m not going to rush out and copy Matt Bell – whose story I only scanned briefly, being more interested for the moment in the writing online in real time idea (I might read it later. Sorry Matt Bell) – I have bookmarked MeetingWords and I will keep it in mind for the time when using it will be a really good idea.

~ by plaidlylush on May 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
