Thought for the Night: Procrastination

I think I have an automatic procrastination response somewhere in my subconscious. Here’s why:

There are several things I either needed or wanted to get done this week. It got to be today, and I still had not finished some of them. Instead of just doing them, I had an urge to organize my room for a while. Then I realized that the urge to clean or organize almost always comes when I know I should be doing something else. But it’s the type of urge that bugs me until I give in, so I have no choice but to do it. And so I’m procrastinating, but since something relatively productive is getting done, I don’t feel like I’m procrastinating. Justification for my bad habits! Fantastic!

Now I did get one of the two most important things done – submitted my manuscript with some room to spare before May 1st! – and I have enough time tomorrow, supposedly, to take care of the other. And, hopefully, I’ll also get some more cleaning done.

~ by plaidlylush on April 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
