Thought for the Night on Ebooks

Some questions I may address in greater detail very soon:

I’ve heard that increasing popularity of the ebook will kill traditional publishing – meaning that it will be much cheaper and easier to download text than to buy an ink-and-paper book. This may be true, and it may be inevitable – still, should it happen? Is it fair to those of us who LIKE reading from the page instead of the screen?

Might easier access to information about new books lead to less effortful marketing of new products? (An ad posted here or there – and you know that half the time no one looks at the ads on the side of the screen.)

That’s all for now as I head off to juggle dishes, Bones and/or Grey’s Anatomy, and laundry…

~ by plaidlylush on April 19, 2010.

2 Responses to “Thought for the Night on Ebooks”

  1. I’ve thought about this a good bit. I tried, for a few minutes, a friend’s Kindle (is that what it’s called??). I didn’t like it at all. Give me a real BOOK any day.

  2. People have tried over decades to get rid of “the written word” – in book form. Personally I don’t think it will ever happen. I still love holding a book in my hand and curling up to read it under a tree or on the sofa. I think there will always be lovers of hand held books.

Leave a Reply

 
