Recent Findings

I ran across a blog series called “Miss Jobless” today. It reminded me a little of me, and then made me wish I would have thought of it. I reconsidered when I admitted to myself that my version would most likely be made up of rants about how hard it is to get a job and how much I don’t want to be living with parents. The one I read looks like interesting narratives that are fun to read. That’s a much better way to set up a blog about unemployment.

My copy of The Hunchback of Notre Dame cost me $1 at a used bookstore. That’s why I bought it. It’s a rather small book, which should have tipped me off, but didn’t, that it’s an abridged copy. I found that today when I opened it to the title page to find out who the translator is. Because I started reading it in December, I can’t say that the book’s abridged-ness allowed me to read it faster. As it is, I was annoyed. This is why I don’t like abridged copies: someone else has decided which parts of the book are worth my time to read. Imagine you get a book to read and whole section of pages have been ripped out. Having not read the parts that were left out, I can give no opinion on whether I would have preferred to read them or not. However, I think that should be up to me.

~ by plaidlylush on March 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
