I Am ‘In The Middle Of Things’

As bloggers go, I haven’t been the most persistent with posts. Or consistent. I began this blog as a way to record my adventure of moving across the country, and to allow those who wished to do so to keep up with the events in my life. It remained that for a while (although I’ll be the first to admit that, for an adventure, my life definitely lacked excitement much of the time). When I took the reverse trip, the whole purpose of this blog changed. Coming home is not an adventure. It’s the end of one.

The trouble is, coming home should complete the story. Any time you read a book or see a movie in which a journey is the main action, when the main character finally comes home, or makes a new home, that is the conclusion. The only things that concluded were certain social relationships, and the idea that I could just pick up and go somewhere and make everything work out, like magic.

I’m still very much in the middle of this story. I don’t mean the story of my life – that’s cliched, not to mention obvious. I do mean the story of this blog, which is something of a transitional journal. I’m here on WordPress to share the ups and downs of trying to find a job in the WORST ECONOMY EVER after college, struggling with just about everything, still wanting to try to make a life as an independent adult. That story ends, basically, when I’m settled into a job – any job, I suppose, although if I get a position that lasts for a year, I’ll still be searching.

It seems I still have a long way to go until the end of this story.

That doesn’t make me happy.

~ by plaidlylush on March 18, 2010.

One Response to “I Am ‘In The Middle Of Things’”

  1. I enjoyed reading your blogs, and especially felt a connection for being in the middle of things. I think I have felt that way for most of my life, because once I achieve one thing I feel the need to move towards yet another goal. Really, does the journey ever end? I’m not sure.

Leave a Reply

 
