Here’s the Thing About Writing…

It’s hard.

As a natural born writer, I admit without hesitation that it’s hard to do. Once in a while inspiration is strong enough to create a stream of uninterrupted writing, which is actually not bad when reviewed later. However, most of the time it’s a struggle and takes a lot of effort to sit down and get out a few pages.

Of course, this doesn’t mean you shouldn’t do it. There are plenty of things that are easy and bad for you, easy things you really shouldn’t do. Writing is hard because it’s a form of art, of creation. If it were easy, then the end result could hardly be worth reading.

That, in turn, does not mean that the harder it was to write something, the better it will be. It’s not a system with a formula.

I love the effort it takes to write something good. I love the work and I love reading what I’ve written and being proud of my words. I love finding ways to be original even though, as some people say, there may not be any new stories.

I think that’s what it means to be a true born writer – loving the work of writing itself. And that’s me.

(But damn is it hard to sit down and write sometimes.)

~ by plaidlylush on March 16, 2010.

2 Responses to “Here’s the Thing About Writing…”

  1. I am glad you enjoy writing, because I don’t. I do enjoy your writing, however! I wish I were better at it, but I don’t seem to have an imagination. Or, a way with words. Even though it is hard, you seem to appreciate the process, and have something interesting to read when you are done. About the best I can say regarding my efforts is, “well, I didn’t suck as much as I could have.”

  2. I love to write. I think my best writing has been when I am inspired or passionate about something. I do believe it takes effort to sit and write when you may not feel like it. I forced myself for a while to get in the habit, and now when I designate the time for writing, the words seem to flow with ease.
    Good to read you.
    Marsha
    http://www.stressmanagementmagic.com/2010/02/contest-stress-free/

Leave a Reply

 
