The Past

I’m mostly over the torment of high school by now. It’s been long enough that I can let it go. It really doesn’t matter anymore. It didn’t matter at the time, really, except that it was current. Very little about high school ends up being significant.

Still, in looking at my yearbook, I briefly remembered some of the stupid stuff about high school. The way every body judges, and puts down other people, and uses his/her power, however little that may be, to make someone else feel terrible. And how few connections I made – as it turns out, a lot less people signed my yearbook than I remembered. Perhaps if I’d asked more people, I would have gotten more signatures, but I suppose at the time I couldn’t just go up to anyone, even if I did want them to sign my yearbook. Well, I guess I should think quality, not quantity, right?

How it effects me now: I don’t think I will ever have the desire to go to any reunions my class has. The chance of seeing a few people I care about is not worth the reminder of how few friends I actually had at the time.

But really… high school just doesn’t matter.

~ by plaidlylush on March 11, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Past”

  1. Obviously I was the only cool person in high school anyway 😉 If we want a class reunion we can just play Rock Band hehe!

    But yeah, sometimes when I think back on high school, it makes me wanna cringe and cry at the same time. It wasn’t just the school itself, my whole life was a depressing mess at that point. But the important thing is that I (and you) have moved past it and made ourselves into really awesome adults.

    And you’re right, almost nothing from high school matters once high school is over.

  2. I loved high school. But the result is exactly the same: nothing from high school matters now.

Leave a Reply

 
