No Place Like

This is the first day of the rest of your life. But that statement is always true.

Today being Monday, it’s a day for productivity. To make finding a job your job, you need to have a work schedule. Mine is generally Monday-Friday, with, I’m sure, some work on the weekends. I haven’t figured out exact times yet, but “during the day” seems like the best option – knowing me, if I put it off and plan to do it in the evening, it will never be done. I have already sent in a few cover letters today, and I’ve only been awake for about an hour, so today I’m doing pretty well.

I also have to temper job search productivity with organizing/clearing out my room productivity. There’s a lot of stuff here, and nowhere to put it, unless I start by making piles and then reorganize everything, including what I already thought I had done. It gets difficult after fourteen years (…after the house fire at age 8…) of accumulating things, even if you get rid of large amounts of stuff at once. I look around and think, “Damn, do I have my work cut out for me.”

I think it helps that it’s Christmastime. I just love the season so much that I feel better about life in general. Some people get more stressed around the holidays, but it seems that at least this year I get to be less stressed. I think, also, that the more I get done, the better I’ll feel, and that will help me to want to be more productive. If I do less, then I’ll feel bad about it and become unmotivated. It’s a spiraling cycle either way.

~ by plaidlylush on December 14, 2009.

One Response to “No Place Like”

  1. Glad you had a productive Monday! Things are looking up! and the Holidays are coming….Santa, Reindeer, presents, caroling, you know the drill!

Leave a Reply

 
