Thought for the Night

My essay on Marguerite Yourcenar/historical fiction

I am considering myself officially published – academically, of course, as this is scholarly and not creative work, but still. I’ve been waiting to be published for pretty much my whole life. Since it is on a very small scale, and just one paper, it does not provide the same thrill that having an entire manuscript accepted for publication would, but it comes down to this: this site doesn’t publish every paper that gets submitted. They are, to some extent, selective, and my work was judged worth publishing on the site. It is my responsibility to own whatever pleasure I might be able to derive from that knowledge. And I’m definitely going to do that.

~ by plaidlylush on December 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
