Who Knew

It’s amazing what you can accomplish when you set your mind to it… or rather, when you dedicate your time to it. When you set your mind to dedicating your time to it.

Sonia and I have three more episodes of Angel left until we’ve polished off the series. Last Monday – 8 point whatever days ago – we began season 4. That means we’ve watched 41 episodes in a week and a day. Now that is dedication.

I am nearly done with the scarf that I was sure I could not finish by the time I left for home. There is still a few hours, I’d guess, of work left to do on it – two or three, possibly four – but I’m so close I can taste it. Not literally, of course, because why would I want to taste something made of yarn?

Then there are things I should really be spending much more time on – mainly job searching, writing, things like that. Not that I haven’t been doing those things, but I have not given them the energy necessary to really accomplish something. That will change soon, particularly in the job search category. It’s getting to be time to hit those applications hard. And I will – oh, I will. Right now, though, my mind feels like a pudding-jello-marshmallow thing being squished by a curious child, and as a result it’s difficult to concentrate on anything that requires much cognitive effort – including this. Perhaps I need more sleep, or more air, or more time not staring at a computer screen… I doubt I’ll figure out the cure, but suddenly I’ll feel fresh and motivated and able to work all the time on cover letters and job site searching. I hope so, anyway.

At the moment, my mind’s still set on finishing Angel and the scarf. After that, I’ll barely be able to blink before it’s time to go home.

~ by plaidlylush on December 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
