Seasoning

Why does everyone say that California doesn’t have seasons? I can assure you it does – subtle, underwhelming seasons perhaps, but certainly recognizable. Right now a good number of trees have turned golden and red and some even brown, adding lovely fiery tones to the foliage. It looks like mid-October, perhaps, by New England Standards. I don’t deny that the branches will not be bare on most of the trees here, and there will be no sheen of sparkling snow and ice to make the holidays bright. I do think, though, that it’s unfair to say there are no seasons.

It’s certainly more noticeable in Mountain View than in San Francisco. SF is full of buildings and pavement – some of the houses are extremely pretty, that’s for sure, but they are not trees. Mountain View is still abundant in nature, as is typical for non-big-cities. Some of the parks might be showing some nice fall colors now, but most of the city is doubtless the same old very built-upon place. The colors change only in the sky, or when a house gets painted.

Snow. I would have missed snow very, very much living here. In going back to MA, I’ll regain all of the beauty of winter. Also the ugly of it, because let’s face it – snowfall remains attractive for about a day before it’s covered in dirt and salt and then it’s just a gross brown color.

Frost! I love a good frost. It’s so sparkly and so temporary. It’s like a veil pulled over the underbrush, the flowers, whatever you have on the ground near you. I’ll have to remember to be very happy at the first frosty opportunity after I get home.

I don’t actually have a favorite season. There are things I like and things I dislike about all of them, but I don’t really like any season more than the others – especially now that school’s over and summer vacation means nothing. I like the changes of season. All of them. I could live without them, of course, but I can’t help thinking I would be much happier in New England than anywhere else.

~ by plaidlylush on November 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
