Another Cookie-Cutter Day

Thanksgiving is in two days now, and it doesn’t feel like it. In fact, it feels rather like any other Tuesday to me. It would be nice if I could get excited about Thanksgiving, but at least I’m not depressed about it.

No, I’m depressed that this life plan that I was so excited for just did not work out. I’m quite unhappy about that. I’m reminded, though, that life doesn’t care what you plan. It happens the way it’s going to happen. You have a certain amount of control, but there are some things you don’t choose. I do choose to acknowledge that I don’t have total control, and that sometimes you make an attempt and have to give up on it in order to move forward. It’s sad, but it’s just as necessary as perseverence. You really need to know which is appropriate when, however, and the possibility of misjudgment is what is halting me most.

Then again, you can’t persevere when the resources available to you all point to moving on. I can’t stay on a path that’s grown into a dead end. If the going is impossible, it can only make sense to turn back and find a path that actually leads somewhere.

The thing about Thanksgiving is that whatever I happen to be thankful for, all of the things that are making life difficult fight to be the center of attention – and tend to win.

The other thing about Thanksgiving is the food. It’s the only thing about the holiday I’ve ever consistently enjoyed. Turkey, potatoes, cranberry sauce, stuffing. Oooh, stuffing. Basically seasoned bread. It doesn’t get much better. In addition, I’ve discovered the wonders of pumpkin over the past year or so. I’m not sure if we’ll be having pumpkin pie, but I guess I can pretend if we don’t. There will be some kind of pie, I’m sure.

And perhaps being crowded and in the midst of a family, even if it isn’t mine, will distract me enough from that which sucks to make that one day a good one.

~ by plaidlylush on November 24, 2009.

3 Responses to “Another Cookie-Cutter Day”

  1. hey there kiddo,
    your insight impresses me…love you

  2. I have reason to not like Thanksgiving. But then, many of us do.
    I hope you don’t feel weird about being with a different family on t-day. I’m sure that you are most welcome there.

  3. […] Another Cookie-Cutter Day « 3214 miles […]

Leave a Reply

 
