The Tree at Pier 39

Yesterday, I headed into the city for a tree lighting holiday festival at Pier 39. They had a giant, decked-out christmas tree and a pretty talented band in santa hats (I may or may not be making up that part) playing christmas tunes. The tree-lighting was scheduled to be at or shortly after 5. I arrived at the Pier around 2:30, and being by myself, was too tired of the place two hours later to stay for the thing I was there to see in the first place. Despite the slight irony of that, it was worth going for a few things.

I saw Alcatraz from far away, took a few photos. I saw the boat that takes you there and was tempted to buy a ticket, but was just a little afraid I wouldn’t want to come back.

Browsed a few stores, tried not to spend money. I was tempted to buy an adorable and unbelievably soft stuffed alpaca, but it cost $80. It wasn’t really a difficult decision. If I had the money in general to buy things like that, then I would have. It was just so cute. There was an Irish store called Treasure Ireland (yes, very cheesy name…), which was pleasant but very small. They had birth charms – my birthday falls in the Imbolc part of the year (the butter festival!) and the symbol is Beauty. Coincidence? I think not!

The Sea Lions were really the highlight. At first I couldn’t find them, but it was clear when I got close because you can definitely smell them. It’s a smell that hits you at first as somewhat unpleasant, but after a few minutes I didn’t notice it at all. Perhaps I was just too distracted by piles of oceanic cuteness.

Most of them were sleeping at the time. They sleep snuggled up next to each other, flipping over and lifting fins and tails as needed. A few would hop across the others as if they were on a moon bounce, in some cases causing very interesting noises of protest from the ones being stepped on. On one dock, a single sea lion was attempting to keep all others off – except two, one sitting in one corner and the other lying on the other side, which it left alone. A whole lot of them didn’t move much, but they were still quite adorable.

I think I should have bought a sourdough bowl of chowder. It would have been the perfect opportunity to do so, and it’s not something I get to eat often. However, I didn’t want to buy food.

In the end, wouldn’t you know it, I arrived at the train station shortly after one train left, and I had to wait half an hour before I could get on the next one. I read a little, thought about how the timing for the transportation is never right, tapped my fingers. When I got home I watched Pinocchio with Sonia and her mom.

Now I am staring at a huge pile of stuff and thinking how much I need to clean up my room. I might return most of these cds to the library later. If I can manage not to waste too much time, I could even get some writing done.

~ by plaidlylush on November 23, 2009.

4 Responses to “The Tree at Pier 39”

  1. Sounds like a good day.

  2. I’ve been there of course and seen the sea lions, but you describe it better than my eyes can see it. Good job.

  3. Somehow, the Sea Lion description reminds me of YG Lock Ins.

    I’m sorry to hear things out there aren’t working out quite as you’d envisioned, but hope the next turn in the path will bring what you need right now.

Leave a Reply

 
