Home? for the Holidays

I met some more of Sonia’s family members today; aunt and grandfather (paternal). We all had dinner at a thai restaurant – where I FORGOT to get a Thai iced tea! – and then gelato for dessert. They were both very nice. So far I like everyone I’ve met in her family.

I once used a book her grandfather wrote as a reference for a paper on Chaucer. Even though I already knew that, I didn’t make the connection until after we were back home. Once I remembered that, it was briefly interesting.

At one point during dinner they discussed Thanksgiving plans. At that point I felt rather awkward. I have already been invited to the Muscatine family festivities, but I have not yet decided whether I want to go. It will almost certainly be better than the alternative – most likely, spending the holiday alone, distracting myself from both the past and the present. Still, I don’t know how I’ll feel a month from now. I have no idea what I want to do for Thanksgiving this year – or Christmas for that matter. The difficulty, of course, is that these are family-oriented holidays, and I now have no family nearby. It’s going to be odd no matter what I do. I’m happy to have been invited to spend holidays with Sonia’s family, but I might feel out of place despite being more than welcome.

I’m sure almost everyone goes through something like this when they move out of home. I want to start creating my own holiday traditions, to go with the life I’m making, but I don’t have enough of a life in California yet to be able to put together a decent holiday celebration. Seeing as I don’t really “celebrate” Thanksgiving, this is more of a consideration for Christmas.

Maybe if I go home in December, I can hold off on some of the weirdness for this year.

Here’s hoping I’ll have enough money for a plane ticket. *fingers crossed*

~ by plaidlylush on October 14, 2009.

2 Responses to “Home? for the Holidays”

  1. I had a dream last night that someone came to our door, and explained that they had hit our car, which was parked in front of our house. They then proceeded to show you and me the damage, and handed you a check for $162,300. You seemed quite pleased with this windfall. Keep all your senses attuned to the riches around you, and being offered to you! $ for a plane ticket indeed! xoxo

  2. Everyone is different of course, but to me, Thanksgiving is no big deal. As long as I eat, I don’t really care so much.

    Christmas might be strange without family. Even though I’m not a believer, just going to a big church celebration might work for me on that.

Leave a Reply

 
