No Mountains in View Yet…

I went outside today!

Unpacking finally occurred earlier this morning. The huge, disorganized pile of clothes has now been folded and put into drawers/impromptu drawers made of suitcases. It looks much better in here. Much more like a room someone lives in. Granted I won’t be living here for too long, but it’ll be long enough that actually using the drawers will make it much more pleasant.

I couldn’t find the street I now live on on Google maps or mapquest, and thus it took me quite a while to figure out where I was in relation to Castro Street – the cool part of town. Eventually I got pointed in the right direction and headed out for a bit of exploration. The walk was just too pleasant. The houses, the trees, the flowers – everything is just so beautiful. I took a few pictures, since on side streets I don’t feel touristy no matter what I do.

There are a lot of palm trees around here. Palm trees may not be any taller than most of the trees in Mass, but damn do they look it. I’d say it’s because they only have leaves at the top. Most of the trunk is unadorned, no branches lower down to distract from its slender flexible body. It was windy today. They bend a LOT. Better than not bending, I suppose, because with winds that strong the trees could just break off at the top.

On Castro street I did feel that taking pictures would be too touristy. It’s a nice street. Lots of restaurants, clothing stores, places to sit. A number of cafes. I got a coffee at one. It was good coffee. I didn’t go down the entire street, nor did I go in any stores other than the one coffee shop, but I noted a bunch of places I want to check out later. I’m planning to return tomorrow, earlier in the day, and have a look in the stores I passed today.

castro st

~ by plaidlylush on September 29, 2009.

2 Responses to “No Mountains in View Yet…”

  1. Sounds great! Glad you got outside.

    So Mountain View has a “Castro Street” too?

  2. Ah, weird. So I saw your other post I commented on because of similar tags (San Fran) and then I noticed Mountain View … so, welcome to the neighborhood? ha.

Leave a Reply

 
