Job Searching for Dummies

Chapter 4: Apply For Job

I seem to have forgotten that step. In going over emails I have sent, I learned that I have applied to only three or four jobs over the past two and a half months. I had no idea I was moving so slowly. I feel as if I’ve written hundreds of cover letters, spent years of my life in job searching, and yet it seems that most of the effort has been in my head.

There are actual, relatively legitimate reasons I haven’t done much in the way of applying yet – I want to spend my free time at home relaxing after a day at work; it’s unlikely that I’ll be able to get anyone to hire me until I’m actually in the area; there aren’t enough jobs that really jump out at me that I want to put in the time to apply to them; part of me does not quite believe this move is happening, and won’t until I get off the plane in San Jose.

And then, the ultimate mental obstacle, fear – but I don’t think it’s time to talk about that yet.

I feel compelled to apologize to anyone I’ve told I am diligently job-searching, and to tell them not to worry, because I know what I have to do in order to find a job. I’ll do it, but might take a little while longer before the momentum really builds. A well-known fable tells us that slow and steady wins the race. If that’s true, then I’m way ahead of the game. Nothing to fret about. πŸ˜‰

~ by plaidlylush on August 24, 2009.

One Response to “Job Searching for Dummies”

  1. I don’t want to nag… but scattering resumes to the wind isn’t such a bad idea! Gotta send many out to get one interview. By the time you get an interview lined up, you’ll be there! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
