The Immortal Wisdom of Avenue Q

What do you do with a B.A. in English?What is my life going to be?

4 years of college and plenty of knowledge have earned me this useless degree.

I never expected a B.A. in Literature to open large and myriad doors. I do hope it will get me somewhere, though.

I was not completely sure I would be studying literature when I started at Bennington, but since English was the only subject in grade school I ever really enjoyed, it turned out to be the only real option for me. I could neither give it up nor study ardently in that field while thoroughly pursuing other subjects. The path of my education came without any real decision-making, but rather a realization that there is one academic thing I love above all else.

For my whole life, almost, I have been a writer. I suppose I didn’t think I needed to study literature in college in order to develop my skills. That was stupid of me. After 4 years with great teachers, my writing is vastly better in both the analytical and creative senses. I will continue to get better – I hope – as more and more time goes by, and I keep reading and writing and coming to new understandings of language. A smart creative writer knows that perfection does not really exist, even though we never cease to strive for it. In short, I can always get better. I intend to.

No, I do not think a B.A. is going to help me get published, and I have not yet experienced the phenomenon of being offered great things by dropping the name Bennington College. I’ve heard people say that it is expensive and prestigious and renowned, but so far I’ve only seen evidence that the first is true. I might as well have gone to state school for all the good the name seems to do. In the end, though, I can say without hesitation that I would not have gone anywhere else. Is a Bennington degree any better than an equivalent degree from another school? Extremely doubtful. However, I don’t know how I could have gotten to this point in my writing without the influence of the wonderful Becky Godwin.

Maybe my fancy Bennington education doesn’t give potential employers much to look at on paper. That is, until the right person takes a glance and responds, “Wow, this woman’s got some kind of perseverance.” If nothing else. (But I do have the else, too.)

~ by plaidlylush on August 23, 2009.

One Response to “The Immortal Wisdom of Avenue Q”

  1. Writers write! And read, and write! You write about as much as anyone I’ve ever known, and you do get better and better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
