Oh, To Be Young and Free

Last week I bought a one-way ticket to San Jose, CA.

My friend Sonia from college, who will be my roommate in the land of the sun, will pick me up, and we’ll be off to her family home in Mountain View. From there it is only a matter of time before we can move into our perfect apartment in San Francisco – what “perfect” means, I can’t say yet.

For the past four years I have only remained in one place for 2-5 months at a time. It’s one of the side effects of college. Despite my constant permanent address, I could not help feeling like something of a nomad. I think it has produced paradoxical sensations of restlessness and a need to settle. The restlessness comes in waves, as I pass the time in Worcester at work and home, wishing September would come and go already. My mind is already in California, and my body is really, really jealous.

Think about it. What do you do when you graduate? Do you just move back home and wait for an opportunity, or do you make plans? Do you (to use a most annoying cliche) leave the nest at last, in a much bigger way than you did in going to college? YES. You get the hell out of that nest. Your wings work fine, so what are you waiting for? It’s not that the nest is unpleasant, but it’s time for you to gather your own damn twigs, bits of hair, and shiny things, build up your own home.

That’s where I’m headed. I’ll make my own – (Let’s leave the clichetaphor behind now. If I go back on this you have permission to virtualslap me: I will not use the nest metaphor again unless I absolutely have to.) – home, my own life, because I’m a college graduate and that’s just what we do.

My god. I’m a real adult now. Who knows how that happened?

~ by plaidlylush on August 21, 2009.

7 Responses to “Oh, To Be Young and Free”

  1. Yay! Great start!

  2. Launched!

    Do you know the way to San Jose?

  3. Awesome, you must be so excited about buying the ticket. I’m happy for you but I’ll miss you. At least I can try to come and visit you when you’re settled!

  4. Wowza! Yo Granny is proud and excited.

  5. Hooray for new beginnings in new places. I’ll be in NYC and you can visit me when you return to the east coast 🙂

  6. How exciting! I’m jealous, and can’t wait to hear more about it.

  7. Hey, I just loved reading this prose-of-your-life. I love your writing style. This will kind of be like reading a novel (we have the protagonist and the plot now) in real-time. And I know the heroine….

Leave a Reply

 
